Picture
For my journal I’m going to write about the experience that the think we team had at We Day!

 I woke up to my alarm clock buzzing in my ear, I look at the clock, and it’s 5:00 A.M.! Usually I would have dropped my head back into the pillow but I knew I couldn’t. I got my stuff ready and went downstairs had a nice breakfast and headed to school. Outside it was still dark, I couldn’t really see anything, and I was surprised my dad could even drive. Once we arrived at the school nobody was there yet so we waited. After 10 minutes or so a couple cars showed up so we got out of the car and went into the school. When everybody arrived our teachers told us who we were driving with and we headed toward s the sky train station.  After we arrived we split into groups so we wouldn’t get lost. We managed to squish our way onto the train; of course I was trapped in a little corner.

We finally got inside of the arena after walking across the street and waiting in line. We found our seats and waited. My teacher told us if you want to buy something you should buy it now so I went and bought a ring and bracelet. When I got back they started the show, well they didn’t REALLY start the show, and we had to do reruns so that they could combine the Toronto show with the Vancouver show and make one big video. After that was over I thought that my throat was about to burst. I realized that they gave us a We Day bag with goodies in it, there were sunglasses, Chap Stick, glows sticks and a necklace.

The first person I remember to come out was the premier Christy Clark! She talked to us about bullying and what we can do to prevent it. After Christy was a 12 year old girl named Sydney Brouillard that said she wanted to become the prime minister of Canada in 40 years! A quote she said that really stuck in my brain was “Children aren’t only the future they are the present” I thought it was amazing because we don’t have to only make a difference in the coming future we can also make a difference NOW!  Next up basketball legend, Magic Johnson the one thing he said that was pretty amazing “The clothes don’t make you cool. You make the clothes cool”.  Turns out Cody Simpson made an appearance as well! My ears hurt the most when he came out due to all the screaming, but I enjoyed the song he preformed: Wish You Were Here!  After him, Demi Lovato came out and sung Give Your Heart a Break along with her inspiring words “This is something you get through. Bullying can be stopped. We will not let it bring us down.”

Overall I enjoyed We Day almost as much as last year! It was AMAZING and very inspiring. I wish I could go again next year but… I’m going to high school so I’m not going to get a chance. I am very lucky to have gone 2 years in a row though.





Leave a Reply.